EU Finance Ministers to Impose Sanctions Against Tax Havens

Dec. 3, 2019, 8:17 PM

European Union finance ministers will approve Dec. 5 a plan to impose financial sanctions on countries or jurisdictions on the bloc’s tax haven blacklist.

The sanctions, or “defensive measures,” have been in negotiations for more than two years. The Finnish presidency confirmed that the four sanctions have been approved by EU member countries and will be automatically agreed to at the opening of the Council of Ministers meeting.

“Every Member State should apply at least one of the specific legislative measures,’' according to a Council of Ministers report describing the sanctions.

A blacklisted country is one that’s considered “non-cooperative” for...

To read the full article log in. To learn more about a subscription click here.