Bloomberg Tax
Free Newsletter Sign Up
Bloomberg Tax
Welcome
Go
Free Newsletter Sign Up

Nevada Governor Signs Paid-Leave, Minimum Wage Bills

June 13, 2019, 7:36 PM

Nevada employers with at least 50 employees must provide employees with the ability to accrue up to five days of paid time off annually under a measure signed June 12 by Gov. Steve Sisolak (D).

Under the measure (S.B. 312), which is to take effect Jan. 1, 2020, employers must provide employees with at least 0.01923 hours of paid leave for each hour worked. The time may be used after employees have been employed for 90 days and they have notified their employers. Employees are not required to provide a reason for using the leave.

Employers may limit the use of paid leave to 40 hours in a benefit year, may limit to 40 hours per benefit year the amount of paid leave that may be carried over, and may set a minimum increment of leave that may be used at any one time, not to exceed four hours.

Employers must maintain records concerning the receipt, accrual, and use of paid leave for one year. Records are to be make available for inspection by the labor commissioner.

Employers that already provide at least an equivalent amount of paid leave are exempt from the new requirements.

Violations would be considered a misdemeanor subject to a penalty of up to $5,000 for each violation.

Boost in Minimum Wages

A bill (A.B. 456) that would increase the state’s two hourly minimum wages was signed June 12 by Sisolak. The increases would start July 1, 2020, with an increase to $9 from $8.25, if qualifying employee health benefits are not offered and to $8 from $7.25 if qualifying health benefits are offered.

In subsequent years, the hourly minimum wage paid by employers that do not offer health benefits is to rise to $9.75 on July 1, 2021; $10.50 on July 1, 2022; $11.25 on July 1, 2023, and $12 or July 1, 2024. The hourly minimum wage to be paid by employers that offer qualifying employee health benefits is to rise to $8.75 on July 1, 2021; $9.50 on July 1, 2022; $10.25 or July 1, 2023; and $11 on July 1, 2024.

Separately, a bill (A.J.R. 10) to raise the state’s hourly minimum wage to $12 by July 1, 2024, was sent June 3 to the secretary of state, a first step toward the measure qualifying to appear on the Nov. 8, 2022, ballot. The measure would amend the state’s constitution to eliminate the state’s two-tiered minimum-wage rate system.

To contact the reporter on this story: Christine Pulfrey in Washington at cpulfrey@bloombergtax.com

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Michael Baer at mbaer@bloombergtax.com; Michael Trimarchi at mtrimarchi@bloombergtax.com