Bloomberg Tax
April 24, 2020, 3:46 PM

Companies Based in Tax Havens Can Be Denied Aid, EU Confirms

Hamza Ali
Hamza Ali
Senior Reporter International Tax

The European Commission confirmed that current rules allow EU countries to block coronavirus aid from going to companies based in tax havens.

“It is up to Member States to decide if they wish to grant State aid and to design measures in line with EU rules and their policy objectives, such as to prevent fraud and tax evasion or aggressive avoidance,” a European Commission spokeswoman said in an email Friday.

France, Poland, and Denmark have proposed barring companies that are based, or have subsidiaries, in tax havens from receiving bailouts linked to economic hardship brought about by the coronavirus.

“Member ...

Learn more about Bloomberg Tax or Log In to keep reading:

Learn About Bloomberg Tax

From research to software to news, find what you need to stay ahead.

Already a subscriber?

Log in to keep reading or access research tools.