Payroll News

State, Local Midyear Wage Changes to Take Effect July 1

June 19, 2020, 3:13 PM

Changes to minimum wages and to wage-related laws are to take effect in several states July 1, requiring affected employers to ensure they are in compliance.

State Minimum Wages

Minimum wages are to rise July 1 in three states:

Illinois: The hourly minimum wage is to rise to $10 from $9.25, and the hourly minimum wage for tipped workers is to rise to $6 from $5.55, based on a tip credit that is to increase to $4 from $3.70. Workers younger than 18 who work less than 650 hours in a year are to be paid $8.

Nevada: The hourly...

To read the full article log in. To learn more about a subscription click here.